top of page

30 Day Song Challenge: Day 0 – The Birth

Music is a very powerful thing.  Each note of a song can bring a rush of emotions to listeners.  Many times the words can offer a glimpse into the meaning of life, while the melodies can be the only thing that separates us from death.  For many people the beat controls our daily lives.

Songs tell us when to wake up, they are our companions while we travel, they gauge our time as we shop or eat, and help us to relax when our days are done.  People say music is the universal language, with some even worshiping the instruments that are used to create it.  Above all music is something that I like many people could not see my life without.

It was this love for music that intrigued my interest over the weekend when I saw an interesting post slide across my Facebook feed.  The 30 Day Song Challenge.  This is a task that after a bit of searching I found many before me have attempted, with people starting each day as their newest goals.

Simply put each person would post a song each day during a one month time period, with different topics for each day’s post.  Many times these “30 Day” plans are done for people looking to get into shape or make changes in their lives.  Why these are always thirty and not thirty-one day challenges I could not answer.  But the thought of answering these questions for myself does look like something I could give.

There are a couple of changes I will make to the list from the standard that most people are posting though.  First off I will post the answer to Day 1 last.  This does technically give me a 31 days of post.  We will call today Day 0, as today’s songs will be songs that are favorites but not the #1 in my book.  The reason for this is because I want to find out if after the end of the challenge my musical taste maybe change, and if I might go back and rediscover a song from my past that I can share.

Another change is something you might pick up on the fact that I said “today’s songs” versus just one song.  Each day will have a posted song of the day… and Prince song of the day!  This is actually done out of fairness to other artist.  Anyone who knows me should know of my appreciation of the musical talents from his royal purple wearing dude.  I don’t think it would be an equal playing field to judge several of the categories on this challenge with this artist’s music included in the list.  No one wants to read a boring 30 Day list with 15 songs by the same artist.  Yet on the other hand when it is one of the greatest musicians in the history of popular music I think creating a separate category will work in this case.

There will be a few other changes including taking out “makes you feel guilty” to add “wish you knew the title/artist” at Day 28.  I felt that the only songs I ever would feel guilty about are ones that I hear all the time but have no clue what they are called or who wrote them.

So we are settled.  Here is the list along with today’s songs.

day 01 – your favorite song

day 02 – your least favorite song

day 03 – a song that makes you happy

day 04 – a song that makes you sad

day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone

day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere

day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event

day 08 – a song that you know all the words to

day 09 – a song that you can dance to

day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep

day 11 – a song from your favorite band

day 12 – a song from a band you hate

day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure

day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love

day 15 – a song that describes you

day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate

day 17 – a song that you hear often on the radio

day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio

day 19 – a song from your favorite album

day 20 – a song that you listen to when you’re angry

day 21 – a song that you listen to when you’re happy

day 22 – a song that you listen to when you’re sad

day 23 – a song that you want to play at your wedding

day 24 – a song that you want to play at your funeral

day 25 – a song that makes you laugh

day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument

day 27 – a song that you wish you could play

day 28 – a song that makes you wish you knew the title/artist

day 29 – a song from your childhood

day 30 – your favorite song at this time last year

Day 0 Song of the Day – Roni Size “Brown Paper Bag”

Day 0 Prince Song of the Day – “Computer Blue”



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wow!

Haven’t seen the WordPress blog in years. Wow! Might be a good time to come back!

Comments


bottom of page