top of page

30 Day Song Challenge: Day 2 – Hate’s a strong word

Hate is such a strong word.  Just the mention of it makes blood boil and stomachs turn.  Every time I look at the word right now typed at the top of this post a sharp pain rushes across my head, pounding into every part of my brain.  Hate can twist the way we feel about things in life because it reminds us of death, and no one likes that.

It’s kind of funny that I would begin my musical journey with a trip into hatred.  The cold, dark place where things I fear reside.  It is hate that gives us the stress of our daily lives.  Many of us start our morning thinking how much we don’t want to wake up, pound cups of stimulants in order to make it though our day of toil, only to come home and sulk in the misery of our time away from it while sulking in the fact that we even made a return.

We pass each other daily, giving a shallow greeting to hide our pain. It is that daily crack of a smile and faint sounding response that leaves many people not even noticing the pure evil lurking inside all of us.  And even though we tell others that it is “fine” the fact remains that there is hate within everyone at some point of the day.

This is unfortunate because humans are built on the basis of love.  We are born, grow, and die based on the concept of spreading joy.  There are so many things that we like in our lives that Facebook had to add a feature with the thumb pointing up.  Just the basic fact that we have our lives should be enough reason to smile, yet each day we instead find more and more reasons not.

Like many of you reading this I spend my days around constant stress.  It is not something I am happy about, nor is it something I would wish on others.  There are enough things in this world that upset me and I do not have the time or energy to list them all.  Instead this is a blog about music and today we discuss the music I chose to hate, along with the thing I hate about music.

First let me say that there is not a lot of music that I could even say that I would actually use the term “hate” to describe.  For the most part music has been my first love throughout my lifetime.  I didn’t understand it fully when I was young, but grew into an appreciation for at least most genres over the years.

To me music breaks down into a few different groupings.  There is the classical/instrumental side, and the vocal/singing side.  There is the acoustic type and the electric type.  Music created for description of life in urban areas, and music created for description of life in rural areas. Music can make us both dance and make us think.  It can stir the soul or calm the spirit.  It either driven by message or melody.

With that being said may people look to cheapen the experience of music within our society by taking away talent and replacing it with garbage.  It may not be their initial goal, instead they might just be looking for a way to do things in a more efficient manor or to keep up with the changing world around them.  Still the belief that humans should settle for less quality in the things they enjoy just because it is somewhat easier is one I honestly hate.

I see a lot of commercials for products that include Pandora Radio.  Many of my friends love using this or other internet radio station providers for their daily musical dosage.  I don’t really have a problem with this if done correctly, but in my limited experience with the product I was unimpressed.  I asked for a station only playing one artist, and instead spent an hour thumbing down suggestions of artist that “sounded like” this requested artist.

Earth to Pandora… nothing sounds like Prince!

So for today’s Song that I hate I choose “Kiss Me Through the Phone” by Soulja Boy Tell’em.  It represents not only the fakeness you will find in today’s popular music, but also the flawed system used by many of these new internet radio stations in grouping genres together.  With factory processed beats and auto tuned vocals, this song makes me want to puke.  It’s not that I really hate the artist as an individual human being.  At any point in time if they want to release real music I will give it a consideration.  Plus I am saving Celine Dion for a later topic…

But what about a Prince song that I hate?  Yes this is my all-time favorite artist, so it would be tough to pick something I didn’t like.  I would maybe put this music on the same spectrum I place the Star Wars movies.  Sure Empire was awesome and maybe Attack of the Clones was a little weak…but no matter what still better than Joe Versus the Volcano.

Like is Prince even involved with song?  This makes Crystal Ball look like a masterpiece!  Sorry P Rogers Nelson…. but this is one that you could have left in the 90’s and not bothered writing!

Happy Songs Next…

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wow!

Haven’t seen the WordPress blog in years. Wow! Might be a good time to come back!

Comments


bottom of page