top of page

30 Day Song Challenge: Day 3 – I’m happy I promise

There is a lot in life that makes me happy.  Don’t laugh, there really are things.  I am happy when I wake up and hear birds chirping outside my window.  Even if I want to shoot my wife’s alarm clock each day around 6AM with the chirping bird setting, still happy when it happens in nature.  I am happy driving to work.  Helps that my commute is maybe five miles on back roads in the middle of the afternoon, I still enjoy rolling down the windows and cranking up the radio.

I’m happy when I see all the hard work I put in on different projects come together to make a good product.  Sure those who know me might think I do nothing but curse and throw things while I am busy, but after it is all over I try to crack a smile.  I’m happy when I see a message from a friend on a little online break.  Yeah it can sometimes get annoying to deal with other people’s problems when I am busy with my own, and yes some people just do not have anything intelligent to say.  I will even admit that I don’t always agree with what they have to say all the time, but am happy when they take the time to say it.  I might say that “if I wanted to be a babysitter I would just have kids” but honestly it is in my nature to nurture those in my life.

Then on my lonely drive home late at night I become happy again.  Sure I come home to a dark house every night fearing that some random stalker is inside raping my wife and robbing me blind, waiting for me to turn to corner so they can knock me over the head.  (Man I have to stop watching newscast so late at night or something)  Still I am happy when those things don’t happen and I instead turn the dark corner into my home, flick on a small light, and relax for a bit before sleeping.

Even with back pain, financial strain, feeling neglected and at times like a babysitter, I can find enough reasons to continue to be happy.  Music has helped me in that.  It is those few little notes that take my mind back to a place now gone, or give my spirit hope for a future not yet achieved.  Seeing a small child hold their first instrument or hearing the quiet person in the back of the room sing somewhat out of key cracks my often cold, dark heart.  Maybe it isn’t that cold after all.

To find a song though that truly makes me happy I have to ask myself first what happens when I am truly happy.  Do I just smile?  Do I laugh?  Might a small tear swell up in the corner of my eye?  Or is it a tiny flutter within my heart?  I think it is a combination of all of these things.  Happiness is a powerful emotion that can change the world one person at a time.

In choosing today’s songs, I have first decided to select ”Dreams” by Van Halen as my song of the day.  Before anyone gets into the whole Dave versus Sammy argument, let’s just look at the actual product here.  There is just this uplifting message behind the awesome guitar riffs.

“So baby dry your eyes, save all the tears you’ve cried….

Oh, that’s what dreams are made of…

‘Cause we belong in a world that must be strong…

That’s what dreams are made of…

And in the end on the dreams we will depend…

‘Cause that’s what love is made of…”

Now for my Prince Song of the Day, I wanted to find something that would have the same effect.  It needed to make me laugh, cry, smile, dance, and feel good about myself all in one great story.  I have chosen “Love” off the 3121 album for this.  The track is one that pulls my entire range of emotional responses.  It contains the funk ready to stir my soul, yet the message that implants into my chest like a good set of implants.  There are a lot more I could chose from, including “Musicology” which is what I wrote down when I first looked at this list. But upon second listen, this is the one.

“Like a bird flyin’ over the hilltops…

Love is like the sky, U know it never stops…

From the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks…

Love is whatever… whatever… U want it 2 B…”

Now to teach him how to spell out the words so autocorrect doesn’t strike!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wow!

Haven’t seen the WordPress blog in years. Wow! Might be a good time to come back!

Comentarios


bottom of page