top of page

30 Day Song Challenge: Day 9 – Turn the radio up for that sweet sound

Recently I started listening to the radio again.  For years I turned away from popular music, instead choosing to play what I decided as worthy during my drives.  I have two small holders for compact disk that I have kept in my vehicles with my favorite driving music.  When at home I have vinyl and the internet to provide me with a constant supply of new music, or television channels that take away my need to keep up with local radio stations while at home.

But over the past few months I have gotten back in touch with local station listening.  Maybe it was the time spent with an 8-track player driving a ‘77 Chevy Caprice that made me long for something modern, or my old ’88 jeep without any sound.  I am sure my tastes have changed over the years, adding small amounts of in the mornings. Still the basic principal of placing all the stations I would possibly want to hear in chorological order remains from when I started it upon starting driving years ago.

With that being said, I still don’t know what is normally popular on the radio.  There are some songs that I just have no clue what they are called or who the artist that sings them might be.  I can remember crossing five lanes of traffic in rush hour one time just to buy a Natasha Bedingfield disk because the announcer said her name with a song I had heard several times that month.  I’m still wondering who Munford and Sons are, and if they are the same cool band with the kind of folky song I keep hearing on the modern rock stations.

But for those keeping score instead our song of the day will be “Written in the Stars” by Tinie Tempah.  I first heard it on a Saturday night dance mix show driving home from work one night and didn’t think much of it other than another club banger.  It wasn’t until the recent Wrestlemania 27 bumpers used to advertise the pay per view during wrestling shows that I began to take notice.

As far as Prince Song heard on the radio, that is almost too easy.  “Kiss’ has been a classic for the 80’s pop stations, along with a track covered a few times since released.  Most recently it showed up on an episode of Glee.  I won’t admit to being a fan I guess….

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wow!

Haven’t seen the WordPress blog in years. Wow! Might be a good time to come back!

Comments


bottom of page