top of page

Stuff Guys Care About: ME

This is kind of hard to do here.  I haven’t spent much time in front of the computer lately minus working and doing a quick e-mail check each day.  None where my true feelings and emotions have come out.  There has been a lot bottled up inside for the past few whatevers.  I can fault a few reasons for that.  Either I haven’t been motivated to talk or not as many people to my knowledge listening.  Seems that everyone has a blog these days and it is a lot easier to read what others have to say than write your own.  I feel kind of like the parts of human interaction I hated the most…you know the part where you are interrupted by someone…seems to be what is the most available.  It is too easy for everyone’s ADHD to kick in.  Why focus on one article that you are reading when you can keep open ten.  Heck even now I am looking at the bottom of my screen for another window.  I’m the writer and I can’t concentrate on just one thing! 

I have to wonder if I truely care about writing…. And then it hit me like a brick wall.  Write about what I care about!  See the problem that I have had lately with the media is that I don’t care about most of it because it doesn’t affect my personal life.  Outside of work is what I speak of here many things that are covered in the conventional news manor and for their target demographic have no bearing on my life.  Sure it is sad to see that random crazy guy has just taken 49 people hostage and is killing them off one at a time until he receives his demands for a 71 VW shaped chocolate car filled with tequilla soaked $100 bills and two virgin Asian girls.  Sure it is nice to know great ways to save money on prescription drugs for your six year old son and sixteen year old daughter by taking them to the free clinic on Tuesdays when they have “Birth Control and Booster Shot Day” along with locations of the Chester D. Molester Centers for Disturbed Old Men.  Normalslavian terrorist are coming to get us all, I get it now!  Trouble is that it never related to me.  When I left work all the problems of the world were shut out only to be replaced by my world.  The music I enjoy and the recepies I make for dinner.  It becomes all about my schedule of events and my daily timeline.  It is…for better use of the phrase…all about ME!

That is where this will now come in.  I am going to write a series of articles that are all about me.  Where I go, who I go with, what I do while there, the usual.  It will have the structure (and hopefully journalistic backing) of a traditional column you might find in a newspaper or a magazine but without the whole “dead medium” feel that that has caused people to back away from those things.  There could become the possibility of feedback and interaction just as you might see from some of the pros who give advice.  Just from an average joe instead of some Dr Dork or that chick from Sex and the City.  Not the hot one but the kind of hot one that talked through the whole deal.  She didn’t give advice…no wonder I didn’t see the movie!

Anyway we are going to talk about me!  We are going to talk about what I like and dislike.  We are going to talk about my goals and dreams.  How I plan to put my money to work and give myself a good pot of gold at the end.  Yeah, you read that correctly…. I will talk about finances.   Now some who know me may be asking “Hey Derrick, how can someone who just filed for bankruptcy give me financial advice?”  Well first off I am not going to give you financial advice.  Just like sex and drugs and rock and roll and anything else you must learn to walk on your own.  It will not be my job to tell you what to invest in or how to get out of debt.  What I will do though is first off tell you what mistakes I made in the past and how you can avoid doing the same.  I would say that it is only my duty to my friends and family to keep you all above water during this swim.  Think of life as a trip through water.  Some people can swim while others like me just sink.  Since it’s a long journey though we are going to need a raft.  I will show you all how I plan to build my raft so that myself plus any other travelers can safely cross. 

So I am going to talk about things I care about.  I am going to discuss fashion or maybe the lack of fashion that I have.  There is nothing wrong with being confortable in your own skin and still able to express your personality.  Too many times though I see people give this up for the idea of visually making others happy.  That may be ok for women to do…but we are men!  We shouldn’t have to give up anything minus the remote once a month.  Doesn’t mater if you are hetero, homo, or metro there are still ways that you can look and feel your best without breaking the bank (there we go back to money) or your personality.

We are going to talk about free time.  Actually I will call this our “What We Want To Do With Our Time Other Than Work Time.” Let’s call this our WWWTDWOTOTD Time for you Internet people.  We will discuss meditation and exercises that can help to calm you after a rough day.  There might be times when I might go out and explain steps for taking up a hobby.  Example here is that I have always wanted to learn to play guitar.  So I might give a little ditty on what you would need to begin with the purchase.  What items you will need for accessories and how to save money on getting these things.  I say guitar though because a lot of the guys I work with play.  I recently brought in an axe in and received several stops by dudes who were more than willing to step into my office for a mini-jam session.

So yeah, this will be all about me.  Stuff I enjoy.  Things on my mind.  Where my relationship is going.  How to fix something wrong with my car.  What did I think about this (__insert product here__) that I just bought.  I can give you updates on everything from how did the last batch of beer taste (not the best…maybe we should have popped for the liquid smoke flavoring)  or what exactly goes into beer can chicken wraps.  I am going to talk about the people in my life.  My family, friends, co-workers, neighbors, sales associates, discount sex slaves, random people who call your phone, politicians, musicians, the homeless and any female that I have had sex with both past and present.  We will discuss the 2008 Election not only on a national and international level, but what things mean in my neighborhood.  I think that the reason why it has taken me so long to attempt to put this together is that there are so many of you out there that go into each story and I want for your sake to get it right.  I care about you!

Damn that was cheesy!

Serious here though, I want to create a home for the things that this or any man could care about.  I see the need for preparation for the future.  Leave a lasting memory that can be recorded and passed on to…what are those things called again…children?  Starting to see a lot of these “children” things walking around my world lately.  Seems to me like just a bit ago I was the child now people keep asking if I am having one.  They ask a lot of other questions too.  I give them an evil look and then go over to the nearest chair.  I pick it up off the ground and bash them over the head.  See, you’re laughing!  Guys care about comedy!  We are out to do or say something funny in order to make those around us laugh.  We want to make you laugh because we care about you.  We care about you because we want to spend our non-busy time with you.  We want to spend our non-busy time with you so we try to excel in our busy time as well as possible.  Circle of Life!  I won’t even charge you for that advice.

Stuff Guys Care About!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wow!

Haven’t seen the WordPress blog in years. Wow! Might be a good time to come back!

Kommentare


bottom of page